Come Run With Me!

Come Run With Me!

 Young lady, think it not an easy thing for a man to emerge from the muck and the mire.

He stretches and he groans to be free from its slimy grip. His heart responds to the whisper of his Maker. But his arms, they just stick.

 “Arise and take My form, come run with Me” Whispers the Almighty to His beloved.

With great effort the boy fights the slushy mess, rising to manhood is not exactly heavenly bliss.

Strong and straight is what he’d always aimed to be. “But dang, this crap is still stuck on me!”

He fumes, he fusses, he cries out in agony! “I hear Your voice! Come rescue me!”

The hand of a neighbor, an email from a friend, a word from the scripture, all whispers from the King.

“Arise and take My form, come run with Me”

One hand free, he reaches out to the Son. “An exact replication is what I hope to become.”

“After My likeness I have called you to be, Come, come now and run with Me”

One foot now free, the teen finds a less slippery spot. He heaves and he pushes against the new found hard rock.

He grips a helping hand that appears out of nowhere. The hand pulls him and pulls him and tugs him repeatedly. Constantly saying, “Now, come on up here with Me!”

The second arm, the second leg, emerge from the muck.

“My God! My God! Am I standing on the Rock!”

With new found strength, the teen rises to man’s height. Strong and straight, like he’d always wanted to be. He raises his hands in praise to his King. “I’m free, I’m free!”

“Now son, come on and run with Me!”

Psalm 40—I wait patiently for the Lord; He turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Come Run With Me!

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I like the imagery in this poem. Nicely done.

  2. Kelly says:

    Congratulations Julia! It looks wonderful! It must be so exciting to have the blog up and running. I am enjoying your writing already.

Leave a Reply

