Running and Thinking

Long road going towards Starbucks.

I ran down this long stretch of road today. The wider my running space is the more likely I am to day dream. One of those little black dots at the end of the road is a Starbucks. Beyond that is the ocean. can you see them down there? Well, maybe you can’t see them but they are there.

Staircase

Road with a Staircase

This part of the road has a gradual incline upwards with a staircase at the end of it. I think about the Rocky movie whenever I run this way. I’m afraid I don’t quit match his vigor while running it but I’m working on it.

I came up with another poem. It is not really about running. It is actually written out of a bit of stress I was experiencing when I sent some of my writing to a stranger for reviewing. It is my hope (dreamy hope) that she likes what I sent. But of course, there is that caffeine element of reality that we all have to deal with from time to time………

Waking Me With Coffee

I can dream wishfully until until reality wakes me, can’t I?

Oh…, that dreaded cup of Joe

Will you be my friend or my foe?

I simply do not know

Will you be creamy brown with swirling foam

Wafting familiar scent of home

or

Will you stick me with a bitter taste that makes my belly moan?

Waking me with no dreams to call my own?

Or

By some strange turn of fate

Will you give me my dream on a plate?

Just hand it to me without debate?

Wishful dreaming is my state

Lots of sugar while I wait

But reality is often served up straight

With no garnish on my plate

They say that, straight, is an acquired taste

But I don’t think, that-a-way, is so great

I prefer my Joe dreamy brown

With wishful foam in a mound

Sweetness swirling all around

That’s how I’m dreaming, my cup-a-Joe will be found

So have a heart

And mix a little dream’in into my reality straight from the start……. 🙂

One last photo for the road. I took the Starbucks road down to the Red Bridge. I turned and ran along the river as far as the waterfall. It’s always pretty down there even when cloudy like today.

River run pathway

River run pathway

My running and my thinking are so mixed up together sometimes it is hard for me to serve them to you separately. I hope they’re blended well enough together that you can get something good from it. Nobody likes their sugar lumped at the bottom of the cup. You want it all mixed up real good. That is how it is best I think.

cup of coffee

Have a great day, Julia

P.S. If you are looking for my novel chapters, just click on the sunset photo marked Daisy and Connor’s World on the right side of the screen. All the posted chapters will appear for you.

This entry was posted in Julia, Running, Thoughts of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running and Thinking

  1. elizabeth says:

    I love that photo of the river run pathway. It looks like something out of Lord of the Rings…tee hee. I also like my life…and coffee…served with a little cream and sugar mixed in. Helps things go down a bit more smoothly. xoxo

    • daisydesk says:

      Lord of the Rings, humm, I have a lot of nice photos of this place. Maybe I should post more photos of it. Today I ran along the seawall and took photos. I’ll post about that run first then maybe go back to the river another day. Glad you liked it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

