3 Miles and Roadside Roses

Sometimes it is the little things in life that push us forward…..

This morning I did a  33 minute, 3 mile run. I’m glad I went early because it rained later on. I would have missed the moment had I waited.

It was a short run with no amazing speed involved but the fact that I beat the rain and got it done made me feel a little more strong, a little more brave, a little more capable of tackling the rest of the day full of responsibilities and chores.

As I ran along the roadside, I noticed Roses everywhere. I’ve been living here 10 years maybe 11 years and have never noticed them before. (man, the things we miss when we don’t slow down to look)

Flowers are small seasonal things that are here one day and gone the next but I love looking at them just the same. So colorful, so bright, so unique every one of them.

Potted Rose in front of a shop

Close up of the same roadside Rose

A short run along roadsides full of new spring rose buds made my ordinary day very special. In my opinion special enough to write about.

Roadside Rose Bushes

Can you see the little Roses along this Hwy? You'll miss them if you are driving. You have to be on the sidewalk to see them.

Tons of mini Rose bushes along the hwy

Plus, don’t forget I beat the rain too. That’s just icing on the cake that makes the whole run especially great.

Loves Bloom is a poem I wrote this week as part of my novel Daisy and Connor’s World. You’ll find it in Chapter 29: Morning Mercy. The rose photos I took this week during my run combined with the forgiveness going on between Daisy and Connor in my novel, sort of meshed together and gave birth to this poem. So I think it belongs in both my running post and my writing post.

Loves Bloom

Passing time feels like a simple breath

When in a lovers caress

A brush of the cheek

A whisper in the ear

A forgiving smile

Causing time to abruptly halt in its step

And give respect

To loving eyes that see through mess

To hearts that keep no count of shipwrecks

To the sweet way that lovers do bless

And grow together in divine oneness

Forgiveness

Keep your eyes pealed as you run through life this week, don’t miss the good stuff. J

This entry was posted in Running, Thoughts of the Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 3 Miles and Roadside Roses

  1. elizabeth says:

    I like the pics of the roses…very perty.

  2. daisydesk says:

    You can’t miss with a Rose, that’s for sure. 🙂

  3. Beautiful pictures and beautiful post. I needed the reminder to “slow down”.

  4. daisydesk says:

    Isn’t life funny? We speed up so we won’t miss anything but really we should slow down so we don’t miss anything. Strange hu…… in running and in life ‘finding your pace’ is key. It isn’t the only key but its up there.

Leave a Reply

