Track run….

I have posted about running at my favorite track before. But I wanted to do it again. Because….. well….I just really like it out there…….

I run for many reasons, one of which, is to just get away from it all. I don’t like stress. I also don’t like stressing others. running burns excess frustration, that I might otherwise dump on some poor soul, wandering by, who hasn’t a clue. (that’s not very nice, is it )

On good days, I like to run around the neighborhood and other more scenic places. But these places have challenges that on my stressed out day, I prefer avoiding. Things like inclines, traffic lights, people, dogs, cars, broken up sidewalks, hot sun, are all things that on normal days don’t bother me….but…. if I’m already stressed out….they just stress me more. Except for rain, I like running in the rain when I’m upset. Strange hu, anyway…..

That’s where the track comes into play.

100_1185

I can run under the shade of trees all the way around this dirt baseball diamond.

100_1187

There is this cool little connecting place, under the trees on the other side of the above track, where I can hook up to the parking lot. I also run around 2 parking lots.

100_1190

I didn’t take a photo of the 2 parking lots but they are over there. Once I make it around the parking lots, I hit the second dirt baseball diamond that you see out there. Once I go around that, then I head up this little grassy place to the red track. can you see the red turf under my feet? That is a third baseball diamond that has a red turf track around it.

100_0383

I go around this red track. It will lead back to the first dirt baseball diamond pictured up top. This is a peaceful place surrounded by shady trees. I find it easy to lay my worries down here. 2 dirt tracks, 2 parking lots, 1 red turf track= altogether equal 1 mile.

100_1191

Tiny things give me hope.

A friend sent me an email this morning that had a saying by Albert Einstein at the bottom. I liked it very much. It went like this:

“There are two ways to live your life. One way, is to live as though nothing is a miracle. Another way is to live as though everything is a miracle.”

I ran 5 miles at the tracks today, by the way. Might have been 6 but I’m going to say 5 because I’m not 100% sure. I daydream and sometimes and forget to count. That’s sort of the down side of lap running. My running time was one hour.

I hope you have a week full of miracles, Julia

This entry was posted in Julia, Running, Thoughts of the Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Track run….

  1. elizathon says:

    I like the shadiness and I like that cool little bit through those trees. Looks neat. Something definitely to be said about no traffic and shade…a lot easier to just zone out and enjoy when you aren’t having to dodge cars, dogs, and hot laser beams of sun. 🙂

  2. daisydesk says:

    Dodging things on your ‘good days’ can be a fun challenge but sometimes….I want to run without all of that. Thanks for stopping in Elizathon.

Leave a Reply

