Swiss Balls, Carrots and Running

Photo of the week:

My New Swiss Ball

This weeks workouts:

Monday–> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=31r9mvsSvwc  32 minutes of the Adam Ford Swiss ball Basics. Then after that, I did a 3.54 mile run in 40 minutes around the neighborhood.

Tuesday–> 55 minute early bird run. (4.8 miles) It’s getting cooler 🙂

Wednesday–> Early morning, I repeated the 32 minute Swiss Ball Basics. I really shouldn’t move on from the beginner basics until I gain more control over the ball. I’m still spending most of the workout trying to balance or chasing the ball around the room. It’s pretty funny actually. Afterwards I took a neighborhood run. 4.59 miles in 55 minutes

Thursday–> This morning I ran down to the ocean and all along the seawall. 6 miles in 1 hour and 20 minutes. Not very fast, I know. But that’s what I did. At the end of the seawall, I stopped a minute to take in the clouds and the waves. I wish I’d had my camera.

Friday–> This morning I ran the full length of the seawall. I was feeling pretty good so I didn’t go home. I kept on going and added JV incline and some other roads too, this lengthened the run to 7.44 miles in 1 hour and 34 minutes.

Friday morning ocean

I have also been working on reconstructing my diet. But before you read further please understand, that I am not a health professional of any kind. I’m not a Doctor or a nurse or anything like that at all. I am simply a writer who likes running and being healthy. Or a runner who likes writing and being healthy. Or maybe a healthy person who likes writing and running…. no matter the order, I am all three but professional at none.

On a crazy whim, I joined a healthy cooking class. the instructor is a retired dietitian friend of mine from church.

Me and my new cooking class

Of course, going into the class I thought I can’t be way off on my eating and cooking because…as you know…. I drink water like a fish now-a-days. That’s what good eating all boils down to, isn’t it? How much water you drink? … Uh no…. really?

Featured veggie of this post is dedicated to Ara and Liz.

In class my instructor spoke on many things. I couldn’t possible repeat them all so I will just highlight a few points that I intend to add to my life.

1. Water is important but so are Enzymes. Enzymes come from fresh fruits and vegetables.

2. Using a juicer or a blender: making homemade veggie/fruit juices is excellent for building up your Enzyme level.

Carrots, greens, lemon, apple, I can’t remember what else, she packed her juicer with just everything on her table and made a veggie/fruit juice that we all drank. It was good.

It is her thought, that fresh juice on an empty stomach is the best thing for you to start the day with. So this is the change that I am making. I’m moving homemade juice up, before my coffee in the morning. I’m still going to drink coffee. I’m just not going to do it first any more.

I discovered after a few days, that cutting veggies every morning for juice making is both tiring and time consuming. So I had to think of something or I wouldn’t be able to stick to my new plan. So you know what I did? I cleaned out my refrigerator and cut up a whole bunch of veggies ahead of time. That way, whenever I wanted some, they were already cut and ready to be used.

like this…

and this….

In closing, I’d just like to say that chapter 45 The Bridal Shower will be posted soon. I’m just trying to do a few drawings to go with it, first. (he-he) You are free to laugh, I don’t mind. Just like my running, writing, and health eating, I am professional at nothing, that would include my drawing. It’s elementary at best but still…. I enjoy sharing it…. so I do. Everyone have a great week and whatever your hand finds to do, do it your very best. Julia French

This entry was posted in Julia, Running, Thoughts of the Day and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Swiss Balls, Carrots and Running

  1. elizathon says:

    I have put veggies into smoothies before. Have you ever tried bananas, spinach, milk (or yogurt), and some ice cubes blended up? It is very good. All you taste are the bananas. I will have to try the other veggies though. I will have to get a blender! Mine broke. wahhhhhh!

    PS I have always thought you were a very good drawer, even when we were little kids.

    • daisydesk says:

      I have been experimenting with lots of different veggies and fruits. So far, I have not got a favorite yet. This mornings combination was, apple, carrot, celery, cucumber, ice and a little store bought carrot juice to thin it out some. It was pretty good.

  2. Those are some serious workouts girl!!!!

    • daisydesk says:

      Thanks Ara, coming from you, that means a lot. You and Liz just keep me hopping! Did you see the carrot pic for you guys?

Leave a Reply

