Exercise Social-Like

Most recent, best pic:

Saturday, a school near me had its annual walk-a-thon. It’s a pretty big school so there were lots of kids and parents involved. Some of us opted to run the course instead of walk it. I ran 9.2 miles in 2 hours and 12 minutes.

I usually run alone so it was a nice change to run in a pack. Group running is different. You talk more and see other running styles.

How many styles can there be? It’s just running, right? One foot in front of the other, that’s it…. isn’t it?

Well, yes and no. One foot in front of the other, no major coordination issues with running, it’s very simple=yes.

But there are as many running styles as there are people in the earth.

There were 2 teens who ran at my exact pace for the whole 9 miles. It was not on purpose. I’d never met them before Saturday. We just happened, by some strange coincidence, to have a similar pace. But we did not have the same style.

They had this… sprint, walk, sprint, walk, sprint, walk style that they were doing. I actually thought they would quit at some point, but they didn’t. They maintained this running style for the whole 9 miles, without any trouble at all.

I am 100% sure they did it the whole way because I was right there. Sometimes I was behind them, sometimes I was ahead of them, but I was there the whole 9 miles. I didn’t stop and start like they did. I just ran straight at a slow pace.

There were stops along the way, for water, shoe tying, bathroom breaks or getting the distance card stamped which hindered the pace from time to time. But we always seem to find each other again. Even though we ran differently, we kept the same pace. It was the weirdest thing. A nice weird. 🙂 It was a good run and a nice day.

Sunday I took off for rest and church with my family.

Monday morning, I started off the day with Mr. Adam Ford’s 32 minutes Swiss Ball Basics. You can find him on YouTube easily. Just type in his name, he’ll come right up. He’s really good for working your core. Once that was done, my friend picked me up and we went on a jungle hike around Zakemi Castle. They have made a great wooden platform to walk on out there so you can enjoy your hike without any disturbance. It was a really beautiful day. Lots of sunshine, fresh air and scenery to take pictures of.

Entrance of the wooden walking path

hiking path around Zakemi Castle

I spotted a jungle local sunning himself

I have no problem exercising alone. I enjoy it actually but every now and then, it’s good to break out of routine and exercise with others. Just take the time to see what others are doing.

I’m still working on the next chapter of Daisy and Connor’s World. It’s not quit ready yet. I hope to post it soon. Until then Happy Holidays to you all, Julia French

This entry was posted in Julia, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exercise Social-Like

  1. Those are beautiful pictures Julia. You definitely have a talent with a camera.

    I agree with you. It’s nice to workout alone, but it’s also nice every once in a while to workout with others for the company and to see different styles.

Leave a Reply

