Fire, Running, Pink 2013

Photos to get the New Year started:

Fire

Fire

New Years Eve Fire

New Years Eve Fire

I looked back over my Daily Mile records the other morning. The very first run I recorded on DM was dated June 1011. It read:

I run around a baseball diamond behind my house every morning. 4 mi

The first 12 laps were of the walk/run type. The next 4 laps were total running. The last lap, lap 17 was a cool down walk. I felt pretty good.

I remember those beginning track runs. The distance I was doing then was literally all I had. It was everything. By the time I was done, I could not take one more step. It was my best.

December 26, 2012, I ran 6 miles along the highway. It was a cloudy cold afternoon. The roads were busy and so was I. I like the act of running. I like it when everything around me is moving and I am moving with it.

Do you know what else I like? I like it when cold air blows against my arm, cold enough to raise goose bumps but I don’t feel cold inside. I’m not cold inside because my blood moves when I run and that my friend, feels good. Totally worth the drudgery one goes through to become a runner.

Somewhere in the middle of 2012 I had said I wanted to run 16 miles into Naha. Well, I changed the destination but on December 27, 2012 I did accomplish the miles. I ran a huge  16.9 mile circle around Chatan and Yomitan in 3 hours and 5 minutes. Not an impressive speed but it was a good way to say goodbye to 2012.

100_1719

Cheers 2012

News Years day, I ran along a coast really far from home. My family and I had gone camping. We found a beautiful, almost-deserted spot. It was ideal. The sun rose that day, a gentle baby pink. So fresh and clean, with soft fluffy clouds all around. I read Genesis chapters 1 and 2 and thought about God’s creative nature. He creates…. He also can create again…. He also can make old things new…. new and fresh and pink.

January 1, 2013

January 1, 2013

2013

The sky is new and clean

I don’t want to mess it up with complaining

Let the air waves be full of peaceful sayings

Words of life and healing

Let us breathe God’s faithful tidings

And run the race, unhindered by gripping

Around noon time I took off on a little site seeing jog along the coast near our camping area. Out and back was maybe 5 miles, I think. Below are a few photos of what I saw.

100_1735

100_1736

100_1737

The sky remained soft and cloudy with baby-pink everywhere all day long. I hope this year will continue to be as sweet and gentle as the first day was. I hope the best for you all, Happy New Year, Julia French

100_1684The next chapter of Daisy and Connor’s World  is still being worked on. It will appear here on daisydesk just as soon as it is ready. J

This entry was posted in Julia, Running, Thoughts of the Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fire, Running, Pink 2013

  1. Kelly says:

    Yay for you! What a long run. I bet it was beautiful.

  2. Sounds like you had some great runs at the end of 2012 and beginning of this year! Congratulations to you! You always get to run in the most beautiful places Julia!

Leave a Reply

