Sushi Class

100_1763

Although my family eats sushi all the time, I don’t make it myself. I buy it from the store already made. I thought it would be fun to learn how to do it myself so last Friday I participated in a sushi making class.

100_1782

The rice balls are weighed on a scale to make sure the size is right. Once you get the feel for the correct weight, you can pretty much guess what the weight is and make the balls. It was more difficult to get the ball into the correct shape than it was to get the weight right.

100_1775

Here, our instructor taught us, two different ways to slice the fish. Slicing against the grain seems to be the most important key.

100_1777

Fish is a very soft meat. To slice it correctly you have to take your time. Well, I did anyway. The instructor was pretty fast. However he managed to teach me three different types of sushi in one class period.

100_1785

On Sunday evening, I did not buy sushi already made. I bought salmon and prepared it myself. Almost too pretty to eat, eh? Seeing that I have never been much of a cook, my son  got a kick out of watching me make it. He ate the whole plate.

100_1786

I also picked a handful of Basil from my garden and mixed it in with Tomato and cheese. I like this kind of salad from time to time. It goes well with sushi.

In closing, I’m still running and writing. I ran 4.5 miles this morning, just to get the day moving. I’m also working on, Connor’s Graduation Dinner, in Daisy and Connor’s World. Busy, busy, busy over here, I just wanted to stop in and say how my sushi class went, as it was the highlight of last week.

Last week is done, Monday has begun, there’s laundry to be hung, and stories to be sung….. May your week be a happy one, Julia French

This entry was posted in Julia, Thoughts of the Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sushi Class

  1. I love sushi! I haven’t had it in a while. Maybe I’ll treat myself to some sushi this week. I don’t know how to make it, but I think it would be fun to learn. It is definitely an art to be able to make sushi.

Leave a Reply

